Friday, November 30, 2012

Orangutans are Protected Animals

Orang-utan (or orangutans, other names are apes) is a great ape with long arms and reddish or brown fur, which live in the tropical forests of  Indonesia and Malaysia, in particular on the island of Borneo and Sumatra.

The term "orang utan" taken from the words in Indonesian language, the 'people' which means human and 'orangutan' which means forest. Include two species of orang utan, the Sumatran orangutan (Pongo abelii) and orangutan Kalimantan (Borneo) (Pongo pygmaeus). What is unique is the orang-utan has close ties with the man in the kingdom Animalia, where orang-utans have DNA similarity level of 96.4%.

They have a fat body and a big, big necked, long and strong arms, short, bowed legs, and no tail.
Orangutans have around 1.25-1.5 meters high.
Body covered orangutan red hair brown. They have large heads with high mouth position.

When reached sexual maturity, male orangutans have a fat temple on both sides, large crown, hair becomes long and grow a beard around the face. They have the same senses as humans, namely hearing, sight, smell, taste, and touch.

Male orangutans weigh around 50-90 kg, while female orangutan weighs about 30-50 kg.
Palm of their hand has 4 fingers length plus one thumb. Foot they also have stacks of fingers that are very similar to humans.

Orangutans are still included in the species of great apes such as gorillas and chimpanzees. The great apes in the classification of mammals, having a large brain size, which leads to the next point, and hands that can do the fist.

No comments:

Post a Comment